Coffee: my favorite kind of bean

Coffee is definitely my favorite drink and what gets me out of bed in the morning. In fact, I actually sometimes get myself out of bed at night to go downstairs and set the coffee maker for the morning if I forgot before going to bed.  There is nothing better than waking up to a hot cup of joe.

With that being said, coffee in the summer can be a little hard to swallow. I mean, even I have a hard time drinking hot coffee on a hot day.  Up until now, that means that during the summer I usually have to buy ice coffee because my own coffee just does not taste so great when it gets watered down by the ice. Well that problem is officially solved.  I recently read that the best way to solve this is to pour your extra morning coffee into ice cube trays to use in your ice coffee. I mean seriously this is genius. Then when the ice melts you just get more coffee!

We have many uses for ice cube trays in our house, but this is by far my favorite. Some other great uses for ice cubes tray are freezing tomato sauce so you can just thaw out enough for the kids to have pasta for lunch or freezing pesto after making tons of it in the summer with all the fresh basil.  We used to make baby food and then freeze it in ice cube trays. We would end up with 4-5 ziploc bags of cubes of different types of baby food in the freezer.  The uses for ice cube trays are endless and something I am sure will come up in future posts.

Well so there is my tip of the day…coffee ice cubes.  Woohoo!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Totally smart Kelly! I never would have thought of that.

    Cheers,
    Louise

  2. 2

    Jennifer said,

    You should try cold brewing coffee in the summer. It’s awesome. You do have to plan ahead though. You just mix ground coffee in a large container and leave it in your fridge for ~2 days, then you strain it through a colander lined with a coffee filter (it takes a long time). It’s really good. I like it more than hot coffee.

    • 3

      kellycy said,

      Wow great idea Jen! What is the coffee to water ratio? This would take some serious planning for me though as I hate to even wait 10 minutes for the pot to brew. Love this idea!

  3. 4

    Andre said,

    Coffee ice cubes …Kelly you are a genius!

  4. 5

    Kristin said,

    Genius!!! Love this post.

  5. 6

    Smithingdale said,

    That’s genius!

    I also really like the idea of freezing pasta sauce. I don’t have kids but I live alone, sometimes its really annoying trying to make meals for just one. I end up wasting so much food. I will definitely be trying that.

    Love the blog. Keep the tips coming!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comments Please!

