Set Your Sights on These Sites

One of the reasons that I wanted to create this blog is to give DIYers a place to go to find information more quickly than it can be found by searching the internet.  Before I do a project, I often spend many hours scouring the internet and my collection of books for advice on how to do things or better ways to do things I already know how to do.  The internet is the most amazing tool as you truly can find anything you are looking for.  I am going to tell you about a few of my favorite sites for Do-it-yourself projects.

1. Youtube.com

Ok so I know what you are thinking.  Duh Kelly, everyone knows that. The reason that I put is as my number one site is because you really can find just about any how to video and sometimes you even get written instructions along with it. For example, last year I learned how to crochet kids hats on youtube.   I have learned how to strip paint, hang a door, install carpet, stop my stairs from squeaking and a million more things.  So next time you are stuck, check Youtube. The answer is surely there.

Here is the link to make your own baby hat.  You will need to know how to crochet and then the video will show you the rest.  If you do not know how to crochet there is a beginning video for that too.

Crochet Baby Hat

2. Allrecipes.com

I use this website daily for things like looking up a bread recipe to finding a recipe that uses the food in my fridge. It has a very simple to use recipe box feature that makes it easy to save recipes that you like.  One of the things that makes this site better than others, in my opinion, is that it allows you save notes about a recipe after you have made it.  This is so handy when you make changes to a recipe.  This is a unique feature for an unpaid user.  Most sites make you pay a fee to be able to do this.

3. Mamacheaps.com

So if you don’t know about this one hold on to your pants. Ok, but seriously this is one of my favorite blogs.  The woman that writes this blog is constantly adding new coupons and discounts that she has found.  Some days there are 50+ things added.  This is a great resource for someone that wants to learn more about using coupons and saving money.  She also posts all kind of great deals from all over the web.  This is really one to check out.

So there you have it…my top three!  I must say that I have also heard AMAZING things about pinterest.com but have not yet had the chance to truly explore the site so I am not ready to add it to my top sites list.

When I created this blog my vision was to create a blog where I could put some of my own tips but also a place where other people could add their ideas, know how and inspiration.  I would love to hear what your favorite sites are. Send them to me and I will add them to the list.  I can’t wait to see what sites other people love.  If you would like to tell me about a couple of the sites you like and do a guest post please let me know and I will tell you what you need to do. Thanks again!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Hey Kelly –

    There are TONS of great blogs out there. Here are my top 3:

    YoungHouseLove.com
    BowerPowerBlog.com
    IHeartOrganizing.blogspot.com

    I also have my own young blog with a few DIY ideas 🙂

  2. 2

    Another great blog for couponing is http://thekrazycouponlady.com/. She does a great job of showing new couponers how to get started, as well as making it easier on the pros too. She takes the current sale ads for most major stores and matches them to the available coupons out there. She even tells you what the final costs will be after coupons and store offers, like Walgreens register rewards. If you need a particular coupon, you can go to her site and print them.
    As a runner up to the KCL, you can visit http://stlmommy.com/. She is similar to KCL. She will tell you on Friday what coupons will be in the paper on Sunday and often puts up links to great buys that can be found on anything from airfare deals to shoes. She does the price match-ups, but does not include prices.
    Hope these sites are helpful.

  3. 3

    andre said,

    You are so great. This post is going to truly help your readers save money and time.

    This blog ROCKS

  4. 4

    skin bleach said,

    Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start
    my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but
    I had to ask!

    • 5

      Kelly Y. said,

      Hi! I am am using wordpress. When I started this blog I had no idea how blogs work and to be honest I still know very little. I have figured out how to modify my blog through help forum searches to make it unique. WordPress has lots of options and seems to be pretty user friendly. I really like it but I have nothing to compare it to either ;). Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help. Also, please share the link to your blog once you get it up and running. I would love to check it out!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comments Please!

