Cake Mix Cookies!

I have really been trying to eat healthy lately, but sometimes you need a little splurge and these always hit the spot. Now I can’t take credit for thinking if this idea, but I have modified it slightly from some of the recipes I have tried and these are amazing. The best part about these cookies is that they truly taste like homemade and take very little effort and time to make.  Perfect for that Sunday afternoon when you are dreaming about a warm cookie out of the oven.

Here is what you need:

1 box of cake mix (any kind you like)

1/2 cup butter (softened)

2 eggs

2 tbsp. canola oil (optional)

1 tsp (optional)

 

Mix all the ingredients together until well combined and a dough forms. Next drop spoonfuls of cookie dough on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. Voila! Freshly baked cookies!

Tips:

You will notice that I listed the vanilla and canola oil as optional.  You can make it without these two ingredients and the cookies will still be delicious, but I recommend using them as the oil helps with mixing it all together and well I just love the taste of vanilla. You could certainly use almond extract or any other type too.  It is also important that the butter be pretty soft otherwise it really takes some effort to mix it with the cake mix.

You really can use any kind of cake mix, but I have to say that yellow cake is my least favorite and chocolate is my favorite.  The yellow cake still kind of tastes like cake where all the other varieties I have tried really taste like cookies. My kids favorite if the funfetti cake mix.  I love using chocolate cake mix then I stir in a cup of chocolate chips. Yummy!

Don’t forgot to mix in things like chocolate chips, nuts, white chocolate chips, or anything else you like.  The possibilities are endless.  I would love to hear back from people on what combinations they have tried and how it worked out.

Trust me that once you try these you are going to be hooked. Not only are these really easy to make, but are so versatile that they will please everyone.  Happy baking and don’t forget to share this link if you enjoyed it!

 

 

Comments Please!

