Not Your Average Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins!

Ok so I know what you are thinking…not another muffin recipe, but this one is really worth sharing.  Once every couple of weeks, my 3.5 year old has the job of bringing snack to preschool for her class.  If left up to my daughter we would always bring munchkin donuts (don’t get me wrong I do LOVE munchkins), so each time I set out to make something as delicious and a bit healthier for her to share with her friends.  My daughter requested muffins, so I challenged myself to make muffins that would be a little healthier than most, but also tastier than most. Well this is definitely my best recipe yet.

Here is what you need:

1  3/4 c. whole wheat pastry flour  (you could also use all purpose flour)

3/4 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 c. banana honey greek yogurt

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 egg

1/2 c. canola oil (you could use vegetable oil)

3 very ripe mashed bananas

1/2 c. mini chocolate chips

Here is what you do:

Sift together the flour, sugar, salt, baking soda and baking powder.  I used to think sifting the ingredients together was unnecessary, but it really does make them better.  I think it makes them lighter and fluffier.  I also used whole wheat pastry flour because I think it makes muffins much more moist, but you could definitely use all purpose if that is what you have.  I always keep Bob’s Red Mill Whole wheat pastry flour in the house for any time I am baking.  It is amazing and so much healthier than AP flour.  The in another bowl combine your mashed bananas, the greek yogurt, vanilla, egg and canola oil.  I used the chobani kids banana honey greek yogurt because that is what I had in the fridge.  I used one of those small containers which is just shy of 1/2 a cup.  Mix the wet ingredients until they are well combined. Then add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until well combined.  Next fold in 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips.  Spoon the mixture into paper lined muffin tins and fill 3/4 full to get nice big muffins.  Bake at 350 for 23-25 minutes or until golden brown.

Ok so what makes these muffins better than average you ask?  I think the secret to these muffins really is in the greek yogurt.  Not only does it add protein and calcium to the muffins, but it makes them super moist and really taste like bananas.  There is nothing worse than a banana muffin where you can barely taste the banana.  Also, using canola oil rather than vegetable oil helps add heart healthy fat and tastes exactly the same.  See the link below for more about the health benefits of canola oil.  If you wanted to make them a little healthier you could also add 2 tbsp. of ground flaxseed. I usually do this, but totally forgot when making this recipe because I was so excited to see how the greek yogurt would work. Also, if you have never tried whole wheat pastry flour you are missing out.  It has all the health benefits of whole wheat flour, but since it is made from “soft” wheat it bakes up very light and fluffy.   Hope you enjoy this recipe and happy baking!

How do you make your muffins?  Do you have any secret tips and tricks that make your muffins out of this world?

Health Benefits of Cooking with Canola Oil

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Claudia Caldwell said,

    Yum!!!
    CeCi


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comments Please!

