24 Hour Slow Cooked Baked Beans

In honor of it being Memorial Day weekend and knowing that lots of people will be having BBQ’s, it seemed like a good time to post an amazing baked bean recipe.  This is a recipe that I would love to take the credit for, but unfortunately I can’t take credit for anything but a few simple modifications.  The recipe was originally shared with me by my friend Jen.  The recipe that I was given has these beans being made in the oven in a dutch oven and that is a great way to make them. The first time I made them I baked them in the oven and they were great.  The crockpot is definitely the way to make them though if you have the time.  The crockpot creates the most delicious sauce and the softest and most tender beans.   These actually cook for 24 hours leaving you with the most delicious baked beans you have ever tasted.

Here is what you need:

  • 2 c. navy beans
  • 1/2 pound bacon, chopped into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp molasses
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp dry mustard (can use 1/2 tbsp. prepared mustard)
  • 1/2 c ketchup
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. chili sauce (optional but so tasty)

Here is what you do:

Turn your crock pot onto low.  Add the diced onion, the bacon, molasses, salt, mustard, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, chili powder and 1 c. water.  Mix to combine.  Then add 2 cups of navy beans.  Finally add enough water to cover the beans.  Stir to combine all the ingredients.  Place the lid on the crockpot and set it to low.

When I make these for a BBQ I start them a day ahead.  They literally take 24 hours to cook in the crockpot.  I usually start them around lunch time the day before the party.  You will need to check them every couple after the initial 15-18 hours or so just to make sure they have enough water.  You may need to add a bit of water if they seem to be getting dry.

One of my favorite things about these beans is the fact that they cook all night long and when you wake up on the day you are going to serve them, there is this wonderful sweet aroma of baked beans filling the house.  They are also really easy to make and pretty tough to mess up. Like I said before, just make sure to check on them every so often to see if they need a bit more water.  I guarantee if you make these for a party, your guests will love them.

Also, you could omit the bacon and make them vegetarian.  My friend Jen made them that way last year and they were fantastic.  With that being said, I am a bacon lover so in my opinion the bacon is a must.  Thanks for reading and Happy Memorial Day.

Have you ever made baked beans in your crock pot?  What are some of the special ingredients that you add?  I can’t wait to hear how these turn out for everyone. Let me know!

Comments Please!

