Mommy’s First Day of Summer Camp Anxiety

This post is a little different than most of my other posts, but seemed worth sharing.  Today my daughter started summer camp.  Two months ago, when I was signing her up for this, I could not have been more excited.  I mean seriously, this camp sounded amazing. Swimming, crafts, sports and much more.  Over the last couple of weeks, I have had a few nervous thoughts, but just figured that was because it was something new.  My daughter is almost 4 years old and is a very independent little girl. She went to preschool last year and did great.  If I think about all this, I have no reason to worry right?  Well today as we were leaving the house, I felt this wave of anxiety come over me and all my worrisome thoughts came flooding back.  Now it would seem that I would have lots of strategies to deal with this because after all I am a therapist.  I mean seriously, I went to school for all those years to help people deal with anxiety and now I find myself sitting in my car with shaky hands telling myself to take slow deep breaths.  I am happy to reports that this helped.   🙂 Ok so why am I sharing all this you ask?  Well it seemed like a good way to reach out to all the other parents out there and say, guess what…you are not alone.  It is totally normal to feel this way when your child starts something new.

On a side note, I was also worried that Avery would be nervous about me leaving her at camp. Turns out I was wrong about this too.  She ran in, put down her stuff, met her counselor and got up at the table and started building with blocks with the other kids.  I went to kiss her goodbye and she simply said goodbye mommy, have a good day at work!  How is it that my 4 year old is braver than I am? I think I need to take some lessons from her in this department.  As I stood and watched her play for a minute, I had this huge lump in my throat and felt a bit like I might throw up.  As I took a few more deep breaths I got to thinking…I guess this is just another great example of something that I am learning as I go.  Being a mommy is by far the toughest job I have ever had.  Part of being a mommy for me will be dealing with my own fears so that I can give my kids room to grow and the confidence to leave the nest… even if it terrifies me. Good thing I am working today otherwise this may have been a day when a morning cocktail was in order 🙂  Thanks for reading and happy Monday!

What have your experiences been with letting your kids go to camp and school?  Did you feel nervous?  I would love to hear about other people’s experiences! 

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Claudia Caldwell said,

    First experiences are always difficult because there is the anxiety of not knowing what to expect. I’m proud of you both! Knowing Avery she is having a great time.
    Lots of love,
    CeCi

  2. 3

    I was nervous about preschool because I wasn’t sure how she would react. Would she cry? would she want me to stay? But when I dropped her off on her first day – when she was a month shy of turning 3 – she looked over her shoulder and said said “See ya mom!” and ran in to play. No tears, no clingy hugs, nothing. She was ready and she had a blast.

    My son (who just turned 2) will be starting toddler program in the fall for just one day a week. I’m very nervous about that.

    • 4

      Kelly Y. said,

      Yeah it is really scary but turns out to be such a great thing for everyone. Avery just got home from her first day of camp. She had a great time. I think she was definitely ready. I guess I was the one that was not quite ready :). Thanks for sharing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comments Please!

