Pizza on the Grill

I have heard that you can make pizza on the grill, but I had not tried it until yesterday.  Well boy am I sorry I waited. It was so easy and delicious.  Here is what I did.  I made the dough according to the directions on the Fleishman’s Pizza Dough Yeast package.

 

To make the crust, you will need:

1 3/4 – 2 1/4 cups of flour
1 envelope Fleischmann’s® Pizza Yeast
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup of very warm water (120° to 130° F)
3 tablespoons oil

I combined all the ingredients in my stand mixer (using the dough hook) and let it kneed until a soft, not too sticky ball had formed.  This takes about 3 minutes on medium speed.  Add more flour as necessary if it is too sticky.  I used half whole wheat flour in the dough.  You could also use a yeast free dough in this recipe if you wanted.

Pizza dough! I used half whole wheat flour

Next roll the dough into the desired shape and thickness. I like to make a medium size pizza with a pretty thin crust.  The pizza I made last night had a thin crust so I cooked very quickly.

My little helper!

Next I used my pizza stone to transport the dough to the grill that had been preheated on medium-low heat.  Right before I put the dough on the grill I sprayed the dough (not the grill) with olive oil cooking spray.  DO NOT spray the grill or you will have a huge flare up!  Put the dough directly on the grill grates. No pan or tray required.   Cook about 3-4 minutes.  Once crispy, spray other side of dough and cook about 1 minute.  Remove cooked dough from grill and add sauce and toppings. We made a 3 cheese pizza because that is my daughters’ favorite.

Hot off the grill

The bottom gets brown fast so keep an eye on it.

Then return the pizza to the grill and set grill on lowest setting. I actually put mine on my pizza stone and put the stone on the grill at this point.  Allow the cheese to melt and the pizza to become all bubbly and delicious.  This will take 5-8 minutes.  Just stay close by because it cooks fast.

Back on the grill to melt the cheese

Finished! My kids had to have a piece before I was able take a picture 🙂

That’s it!  This was so fast and simple and made the most crispy and delicious crust.  The whole family loved it.  It was also great to be able to make pizza in the summer and not have to heat up the house by having the oven on.  This is a perfect summer dinner.

Have you ever made pizza on the grill?  How did it turn out?  I would love to hear from you!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’ve heard of doing this, but I’ve never tried it. Thanks for the post, tonight’s the night I’m going to make this now.
    Beth


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comments Please!

