It’s Time to Plant Brussel Sprouts

Wow!

I can remember a time in my life when the idea of eating a brussel sprout repulsed me.  Now as an adult, I have learned how to prepare these tasty little vegetables and they are one of my favorite foods. In fact, when I was pregnant with my first daughter I ate brussel sprouts nearly daily.  They were definitely my number one craving.  If you are one of those people who thinks you don’t like brussel sprouts than I dare you to give them another try.  I am going to post some of my favorite brussel sprout recipes at the end of the post.  If you are like me and can’t get enough brussel sprouts then it is time to start planting your brussel sprout seeds.

I am trying something new this year and I am planting my brussel sprouts mid summer rather than early spring.  Brussel sprouts will not mature well and form those delicious mini cabbage like treats if the weather is too warm.  Over the last couple of years, I have had horrible luck with my brussel sprout plants.  I plant them mid March and they start off beautifully. Each year they have grown into these huge healthy plants, but never give off any brussel sprouts.  After a little research, I have decided to try planting them now and letting them develop into the fall.  This way as the fruit is developing the weather will be getting cool which will encourage the plant to produce more fruit.  I spoke to the owner of my local garden store and she supported this idea and said that she has had more luck growing them into the fall too.

Here is CT our summers can be pretty hot so I did a little experimenting with my seed placement.  I planted the seeds directly in the ground because the soil is warm which should be good for my little seedlings.  I planted the seed in different amounts of sun because while brussel sprouts like the sun light and can require full sun, I am a bit worried that full sun in the dead of summer will be too much.   I planted the seeds about 2 weeks ago and here is how they are doing.  The seeds planted in full sun are doing the worst. They have barely sprouted.  The seeds planted in partial sun and the ones in the mostly shaded garden have done equally well.  My guess is that the partial sun ones (about 4-6 hours of sun per day) will do the best because they will need that sun as the fall approaches.

Most varieties of brussel sprouts take about 90-110 days to mature. This means you need to start them now for a fall harvest.  There are several different varieties of brussel sprouts.  I planted Long Island improved because these are said to taste better if they mature after a frost.  I can’t wait to find out if that is true.  Like I said before, I have not had too much luck with brussel sprouts over the years so I will continue to post growing updates as the seedling mature.  All I have done so far is plant the seeds in well drained, compost enriched soil and they are off to a good start.  I will keep you posted.

 

Long Island improved seeds

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Shredded Brussel Sprouts

Kielbasa and Brussel Sprouts

Brussel Sprouts with Hollandaise Sauce – this is my favorite! Even people who don’t like brussel sprouts will love these.

 

 

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    christine said,

    How did your brussel sprouts do? I want to try them in my garden again next year (I am in Minnesota) but haven’t had much luck with them in the past. They usually end up about the size of a grape. 😦

    • 2

      Kelly Y. said,

      Mine did ok but not as well as I would have liked bc the weather stayed too warm for too long. Brussel sprouts not only prefer but need cool weather. If the weather is to warm the heads don’t form tightly and they can be bitter. They also need a lot of nutrients. One of the things you can do if the heads stop forming is cut off the plant when it is about 2-3 feet tall. This will help redirect the plants energy back into the heads. Most importantly plant in cool weather and fertilize well. I hope this helps. Did you add compost or manure to the soil before you planted?

      • 3

        Christine said,

        We added compost before planting. I am going to give it another try next year.

        🙂

      • 4

        Kelly Y. said,

        yes keeping trying. There have been several things in my garden (sugar baby watermelons for example) that have taken me several seasons to figure out. Keep me posted and good luck 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comments Please!

