Light Your Charcoal Grill with Sugar

This makes me hungry just looking at it!

There are lots of gadgets and ideas out there about how to best light the charcoal in your grill. The fact is, when you are ready to grill and the food is all set, there is nothing more frustrating than charcoal that won’t light.

Here is the quick fix if you are ever in this situation.  Sprinkle a few tablespoons of sugar (just plain old sugar) on the briquettes and then light the charcoal again.  This works because when you expose sugar to high temperatures it quickly decomposes and catches on fire quickly. I really prefer this to squirting lighter fluid all over the coals that cook my food!

When you are hungry and cursing at the coals because they won’t light, this little trick will save the day.  Happy grilling!

Do you still you a charcoal grill or do you only use gas?  Do you think the food tastes different when cooked over charcoal?  I would love to hear from you!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Hein said,

    Wood is best off all, but theres not always dry wood everywhere, then ill use charcoal. Only use gas when open fires aren’t allowed. Wood and charcoal definitely give more taste to what your braaing.

  2. 2

    Leon said,

    Charcoal only, just because that’s all I have for now. I like it, but am anxious to try gas since it seems so much easier and quicker to setup etc.

    My preference is to get the charcoal ready for cooking, then add various water soaked woods, depending on what is available. Mesquite always a favorite. I can’t claim to tell much difference in food taste by using the wood, but the smoke I’m standing in as I BBQ is nice. 🙂

  3. 3

    Donita said,

    I prefer charcoal over a gas grill. I like the smell of the charcoal and I think the food taste better. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comments Please!

