How to Get Rid of Mineral Deposits and Hard Water Stains

 

Hard water stains and mineral deposits can leave something that is actually clean, looking filthy. Look at the rack that goes under my dish rack.  I clean this at least once a week, but due to the mineral deposits from the water dripping on it, it never “looks” clean.

I have tried everything I can think of to clean it including harsh chemicals and my favorite tool the magic eraser.  Even the magic eraser did nothing to it.  Well finally I have figured out how to clean off these horrible stains.  WHITE VINEGAR!!!!  I guess I should have tried this sooner as I use it to clean everything else in my house. For some reason, I just did not think it would work. Well I was wrong.

All I did was pour some undiluted white vinegar onto the drain board and let it sit about 10 minutes. Then I scrubbed it gently with an old toothbrush and voila!  It looks like new.  This method could be used on shower doors, sinks or anywhere else that gets mineral deposits.  Put it in a spray bottle to clean the shower. It works beautifully.  Check out the pictures of my drain board.  Seeing is believing.  Good old white vinegar proves to be the champion cleaner again. Click here to see how you can use white vinegar to clean your floors.  You may never buy expensive cleaners again.

Before cleaning with white vinegar

After cleaning with white vinegar!

What other things do you use white vinegar to clean?  I would love to hear from you!

 

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Claudia Caldwell said,

    Can’t wait to try this!

  2. 2

    Great results, easy to do, and no harsh chemicals. Win, win, win! Thank you for posting!

  3. 3

    Marlene Pattillo said,

    I remember my mom cleaning mirrors with white vinegar and wiping them down with newspaper. No lint or streaks! Your hands will get a little black ink on them, but you can wash that off and your mirrors will look perfect.

  4. 7

    Amanda :) said,

    Thank you! I’ve hated the look of my dish rack and kind of accepted its hideous condition….not sure why. But enough was enough! Going to do this TODAY!

  5. 9

    Ben said,

    The shower heads and the sprayer in the kitchen sink can also be soaked, overnight, in undiluted vinegar. The water flows so much better once all that gunk is removed from the tiny holes in the sprayers. Great tip.

  6. 10

    L C said,

    Sorry to tell you it does not work for me. White vigner wait for ten minutes with tooth brush.
    The water deposit just refuse to go.
    Where do I go wrong?

    Thanks for your respond.

    LC

    • 11

      Kelly Y. said,

      Pour the vinegar then sprinkle some baking soda. Beware it will foam up. Let that sit a little while then scrub. Hopefully that will do the trick. Let me know. Good luck.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comments Please!

